Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Learning a foreign language has a lot of advantages. The two main objectives why people learn foreign languadges certainly are to travel or work. But knowing foreign language can still be beneficial even if you never get a chance to travel overseas. Studing other languages is necessary to get good professional education. Furthermore, it s often mandatory requirement in job applications. In addition, knowing foreign languages is very helpful purposes enretainment, for example reading books or watching movies. The primary reason, why people start learning foreign languages is in order to travel or work overseas. Travelling is one of the most favourate hobbies for a lot of people. However, it is very inconvinient to visit the country if you can not understand local language. You have trouble in getting simple services, like taxi or hotel. Therefore people always try to memorize some basic phrases before visiting certain country. Many people are also keen to work outside of their homecountry. It is a good experience and very helpful for career growth. Knowing foreign languges is also very important for getting sufficient education, especially for nations, like us, whose language is not widespread. For example. In my profession, only very few materials are available in Georgian language. If you want to want to get access to bigger resources, you need to be able to read in English, German or French. Even after completing education, knowing foreign languages is necessary for professional career. My employer company has many partners from other countries. Working languages with such companies are English and Russian, so I need to know these languages to fulfill my obligations. In addition to studying and working, knowing languages is very useful for following your interests. Many masterpieces in literature are created in foreign language, it is biggest satisfaction to read in original for those who love reading. Same goes with movies, poetry, music and other areas of entertainment. In conclusion, foreign languages are mostly learned to travel or work abroad, but there are many other uses of knowing languages in your own country as well.