While some people consider allowing children to make independent decisions very important, others think that it might have a negative effect on them.

While some people consider allowing children to make independent decisions very important, others think that it might have a negative effect on them. I think making choices on the own will help young kids to become more independent, it will also allow them to see the result of their action. On the other hand, making individual choices does not mean, that they do not consider advices. Parents, that let their children to make minor choices actually help them to develop as an indepenent individual. Being able to make decisions independently has vital importance in every profession, therefore earlier they learn how to do it, better. Consequently, gaining this skill at early age can become a determinant of their future career success. Another important aspect of allowing children make their own decisions is to let them to witness the consequences. Everyone studies on their own mistake. For example, if child sees that his/her choice resulted in failure, he/she will make correct choice next time. Last but not least, making choices independently does not mean neglecting advices. Parents can give some direction to their children and then allow them to make final decision. When the children feel that their opinion is respected, it is likely that they will show respect as well and take their parents’ guidance into consideration. To summerize, in my opinion, young kids that are allowed to make individual choices will become more independent persons. This does not contain the risk of getting individuals with their own wishes, because they will be still willing to take other people’s advices.