some people say that the main environmental problems of our time is the loss of particular species of

It is argued by few that the major challenge of the current decade is loss of specific flora and founa, while some believe that there are other pressing issues which needs more attention. This essay will show that while there are many creatures that are already affected now but mankind needs to address other mojor concerns which could potentially end our world. To begin with, in the last few decards due to modernization of cities and expansion of colonies into natural habitats of animals, such as forest is leading cause to reduced survival land for many creatures who dwell on these lands, as a result of these confined areas they are either starving to death or killed by humans during encounters. A report by Land regulatory board revealed that during the construciton of new roads for Hyderabad they had to cut over 1000 trees and eliminate many local birds. However they did state that they relocated many small scale animals and planted various plants alongside roads. Although protection of every species from extinctions is a problem which needs action as it can cause disbalance to ecosystem, however there are more critical challenges which are ahead like carbon emission and plastic usage. Firstly excess usage of fossil fuels lead to carbon relased in atmosphere which is harmful to all the life on planet, moreover it is causing permanent damage to ozone layer which protects living being on earth from harmful ultaviolet rays. A documentary published by NASA projected the damage already incurred by earth’s ozone layer is about 5%. In addition, plastic disposal is another problem which directly links to causing damage to nature as it takes over 100 years to decompose and during this period it affects soil composition and animals gets deceived assuming its food. In my opinion, though people argue that main problem of our era is extinction of specific species of plants animals, however, clearly its not as air quality and plastic foot print are more immediate attention seekers of 21st century which must be address to protect the planet.