Not many young people in countries around the world go to and enjoy classical music concerts and plays. Why is this the case? Should they be encouraged to attend?

In recent years, with the burgeoning development of modern types of music, only a minority of the young generation engage in classical music performances as audiences. While the reasons behind this absence possibly involve both subjective and objective factors, personally, I am firmly convinced that youngsters should be persuaded to attend othordox theatrical performing arts. To begin with, there are several answers to the lack of enthusiasm for classical music concerts and plays among the young. First of all, young people now have a preference for modern music over classical one. For the reason, the ubiquity of digital music services has enhanced the accessibility of various genres of music, while the fast pace of life has motivated songs with energetic tunes and catchy melodies to be favoured by young listeners. Consequently, classical music which contains slow pace would fail to satisfy the young’s desire and gradually become neglected. Moreover, the lack of knowledge could be a barrier for young people to perceive classical types of music. In another word, the message underneath this genre often reflects life with a profound perception, which could be elusive for a large number of young audiences. Thus, pop and ballad songs including simple structures and intelligible meanings are more likely to appeal to teenagers. Having said that, I would hold the opinion that enticing young people to participate in classical music shows would be advantageous to them in terms of health benefits and cultural understanding. As the regard of health is concerned, classical music could be seen as a great stress reliever. Immersing in slow soothing melody and tune would lower blood pressure, reduce anxiety, enhance concentration, and thereby, boost the working and studying efficiency. What is more, not only do these musical events provide the youngsters with a deeper insight into classical music, but also play a crucial role in preserving the historical values. Aforementioned, classical plays are reflections of our ancestors’ lives with every single line of musical lyrics retaining precious lessons of culture. In the long run, thanks to these art genres, teenagers would be equipped with a thorough knowledge of tradition, and then retain those values for the future generations. In short, although it is inevitable that classical music is far more abstract than other genres, the young should be emboldened to take part in classical music events with regard to psychological health merits and cultural preservation.