Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems.

Some individuals state that the extinction of rare species of animals and plants is a major issue affecting our environment. While some people consider there are other factors as well, contributing towards ecological problems. In my opinion, humans are solely responsible for the loss of a unique breed of animals and plants as well as other environmental challenges faced today. On the one hand, if we talk particularly about land and marine animals, there is a massive black market operating at a global level that specializes in the trading of skins and body parts of such species. For instance, there is a huge demand for shark fins in the Chinese market, as restaurants over there sell different types of soups and dishes containing those. Whereas, bartering the horns of rhinoceros by poachers is another famous example that led to the extinction of the animal. The death of unique species highly affects our ecosystem. For example, if all the predators are killed, this will lead to an increase in the population of prey such as dears. A group of deers that highly rely on grass and vegetation can destroy the whole forest as well as carry diseases. Furthermore, plants are crucial in supplying oxygen and absorbing carbon dioxide from the atmosphere. Also, they are a vital source of food and habitat for the wildlife and play a major role in regulating the water cycle. Destruction of plants can cause an imbalance in nature. On the other hand, several factors harming the earth are global warming, deforestation, and pollution. Considering the last two centuries, the industrial revolution has evolved and humans established numerous factories related to chemicals, clothes, and much more. Waste materials and types of chemicals coming out of such industries have already made the water bodies toxic, and also the smoke coming out of these factories highly contributes to global warming. Deforestation is another issue that has become quite common these days, one of the factors contributing towards it is overpopulation, as it leads to increasing demand for basic liabilities such as food, cloth, and home. Moreover, rapid growth in the transportation and nuclear energy sectors is no less. Sources of emission of pollutants from fine particles, metals, and also heavy noises have a direct impact on public health and are also responsible for greenhouse effects. Finally, the best solution is that humans should design strict laws and policies related to the environment. Although organizations such as United Nations have already defined rules and regulations to protect Mother Earth, I am sad to say that most of the countries do not consider this as a serious matter and fail to act on this. We have also seen a lot of improvement in European countries towards the green revolution. Most of the population opted to travel via Bicycles, this initiative is amazing and contributes towards saving nature. Apart from this, peoples should volunteer in cleaning programs, plant a tree once a month, also join various clubs and societies that are contributing to saving our planet. In conclusion, the loss of rare flora and fauna and other important issues such as global warming, deforestation, pollution, etc, are a threat to our planet can be controlled, if humans act responsibly.