Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

That some endemic biodiversity, in today’s world, is on the verge of extinction is believed to be the principal environmental issue. Others, conversely, claim that this seems to be trivial by comparison with other related problems. The former idea, conceivably, seems to be more sensible. That loss of some species disrupts the equilibrium of the biosphere is highly advocated by the proponents, stemming from the fact that each of animals or plants would play a decisive role in the ecosystem. Such disruption could remarkably cast a blight on the food chain, thereby interfering with food’s production. This means should a particular type of flora and fauna be annihilated, some crucial nutrients such as proteins or vitamins will not be produced anymore. People, as a result of this scarcity, would ultimately suffer from ineffectively physical growth since such nourishment would be consequential for humans to grow as efficiently as possible. This, if not taken into serious account, can on a higher scale cause starvation which, per se, can jeopardize subsequent generation’s life. Held against the aforementioned idea is the perception of giving priority to other dominant issues the most noticeable of which is cited to be air pollution. This catastrophe is said to be considerably attributable to one-occupant cars, deriving from the fact that individuals, without regard to disastrous consequences, drive their own vehicles on the roads. Toxic gasses such as CO2, accordingly, are emitted into the air, posing respiratory-related diseases for city dwellers which is argued to be far more important than loss of biodiversity. Contrary to the common belief, it is conceivable that such pollution, despite being too hazardous to humanity’s health, can be substantially mitigated if human beings stop paving the jungles only to construct highways. Such deforestation would presumably decimate a huge number of creatures, resulting in more emissions into the air. This would be rooted in lack of some trees reducing the rate of these pollutants by absorbing them. The abundance of such fauna can worldwide present people with more oxygen and pure air to breathe, making all the individuals demonstrate more regard for preserving plants and animals. To encapsulate, that many animate beings are on the point of annihilation seems to be granted more pressing than placing more emphasis on other related hurdles a concrete illustration of which can be air pollution. This would admittedly be due to this predicament can be to a great extent alleviated if one do not clear lands of forests.