Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In this modern era, although humans have a large number of convenient facilities and amenities, they are suffering many detrimental effects from environmental destruction. Some argue that the most critical issue is the decrease of particular species of flora and fauna, yet others believe that other dreadful problems are more pressing. In my opinion, I support both viewpoints as each has its own reasons. There are two prominent reasons why the reduction of several species would cause negative effects on the environment. First of all, the loss of some plants and animals might lead to an ecosystem imbalance. Since some trees or plants are commonly the sources of food for various wild animals and some smaller animals are prey to bigger ones, it might become a lack of food for a feral. For instance, bamboo is the bear’s favorite food or fish are the main sources of polar bears. Secondly, the reduction of diverse specific plants might affect adversely the economy. If rice became extinct one day, it would definitely bring about many destructive consequences for Asian countries. Also, the loss of any creatures is permanent and means that future generations will not be able to appreciate the wonders of a multi natural world. On the other hand, there are a variety of other environmental issues on earth. The most serious one is the temperature rise which has an unfavorable impact on both humans and animals. High-temperature results in various severe disasters such as drought, thunderstorms, earthquake, and flood that would affect agriculture and people’s habitat. Besides, the melting of ice has a bad influence that leads to a shortage of water for production and living. Furthermore, islands and coastal areas are also likely to be submerged, people will lose their land and their homes. And also air pollution causes diseases from the same gas machines and works. As an example, lung cancer, heart disease, death, and other illness. By way of conclusion, it is undeniable that biodiversity, human lives, and the economy would be badly affected if some kinds of plants and animals are on the verge of extinction along the earth has to suffer from other environmental problems. In my view, we should not take any environmental concerns for granted as they affect directly our habitat.