In some countries people spend long hours at work. Why does this happen? Is it positive or negative development

The current trend of some countries is that people are likely to spend almost the entire day at work or, perhaps, long hours at job places, giving much effort to themselves as freelancer or to companies as employee. This way of seeing work is due to many causes like revenue needs and low ecomical growth. After capitalist development and economical crisis company owners and many self-employed need to increase productivity and revenues but slow economical progress makes it dramatically difficult. Thus, the solution that comes up firstly is to increase the amount of work and labor by (operational) lines, making them to spend long hours working. What does it means pratically? [There are many ups, but at the same time downs exceed them. ] For instance, spending much time at work is definitely positive for allowing more output in general and regarding the fact that to increase time should means to increase quantity of performances, even if it's not always true. Furthermore, more time could bring more effictiveness and quality to outputs. Furthermore, working more hours on something should result in a better care of performances. Lasty, people which are used to work a long are requested to ensure that work will be done in all cases and difficulties. On the other end, many downs are coming up in the last decade researches, where experts have seen how the performances could evolve and become better dicreasing the amount of hours at work. One of the main aspect is frustation of working for long hours that could become a stressful loop. This, in fact, could turn(s) into worst job performances and in less efficency. Moreover, another important factor is the feeling of approach your job with hate and loathe due to exaggerated time at work. Last but not least is the fact that people should have more time for themselves and family in order to accomplish all the spheres of life.