Some people say that the government is responsible for aged care and financial support for the elderly; others argue that it’s the role of individuals.

It is often argued that the governments should take care of the elderly people while others believe that it is the responsibility of the people themselves to be financially ready for their older days. This essay believes that, although a lot of elderly people suffer from hardships due to their health issues, the people should be managing their income to meet their requirements for the later stage of their life. Many would argue that on reaching old age, the government should take the entire responsibility of their citizens. The reason for that is these people would be suffering from many disabilities due to their age and its hard for them to find a job due to their deteriorating health. This would eventually result in them begging in the streets to survive on earth. For instance, in the streets in India, a lot of aged people can be seen begging to eat at least one meal a day. However, this essay believes that these instances are very rare, and cannot be generalized for every senior citizen. On the other hand, it is the responsibility of every individual to care of their life at every stage. This is because every person should be aware of their aging process, and it is their responsibility to be ready for any instances in their life by managing their income and lifestyle. The government should only be responsible for providing the educational facilities and other infrastructure developments which can provide their citizens the opportunity to be well prepared to the later stages of their life. Furthermore, if the government decides to take care of every aged people it would result in huge financial liability for the governments. Therefore, I believe that the individuals themselves should spend wisely and save the rest of their income to live a better life when they are aged. In conclusion, although it is hard to generate income at the older stages of their life due to health concerns, I believe it is the responsibility of every individual to be prepared for every stage in their life by managing their wealth.