Young people are spending a lot of money on fashion and styles. Why is this, the case? How this will affect youngsters?

Fashion and style is a popular trend among every age group. Young generation tend to spend a fortune on style and fashion. The reason for this phobia is the growing celebrity culture and social media, which will have adverse ramifications on the youth. Unlike today’s modern technology, when the primarily source for fashionistas were printed magzines; smart devices these days close that gap by providing unlimited access to such materials. To elaborate, an adolescent with an Iphone these days, can easily access the popular fashion trend setters like Tony & Guy or Tommy Helfiger for the latest fashion and styles, which leads to unwanted expenditure of resources for the sake of the trend. According to a recent survey by Oxford University, people with smart devices like Iphone or tablets are prone to spend more money on fashion and styles in contrast to those who has the basic version of mobile phones. Although social media connects people sitting across continents, yet they have daunting financial effects on young people when it comes to fashion and style. To support this, young people in high school will spend a handsome amount of money on their clothings and hair styling, only to take pictures and post them online to their social media accounts, for their peers to see and appreciate. According to a recent journal published by a group of researchers in MIT, they had revealed that youngster across the North America aging 15-18 are spending nearly a billion dollars every year and the number are stills counting.