Modernization vs Dependency Theory

Rostow mentions the multiple stages of growth in order to better demonstrate modernization theory those are Traditional Society Preconditions for takeoff, Takeoff, Drive to maturity and Age of Mass Consumption. To better summarize Modernization theory, I shall provide an example that uses two countries one of them being a wealthy state (Country 1) and a poor state (Country 2). Country 2 is poor because it has not had as much time to develop as Country 1 if you give Country 2 a certain number of years it will eventually reach their levels of development in Country 1. Country 1 is simply higher state of development. The modernization theory is proven to be effective in some cases like the ball got of and Cora in Turkey. In “The Grocer and the Chief, ” Balgat is a great example of a town in the transition from traditional ways to modernity. During the initial interviews, the Chief represents tradition, and the Grocer represents modernity in the sense of wanting to get out of his “hole. ” This idea comes from increasing globalization is a very modern one, as John Gray explains. The Grocer wants to take control of his life and actively impact it by going to Ankara or even America to realize his dreams. On the other hand, the Chief is grateful for what life has given him and does not wish to change things. Another interesting thing was that Lerner seemed to use the word History to mean modernity or modernization, perhaps part of Gray’s modern myth that History truly began with modernization. Main argument of dependency theory is the global system is rigged overtime core countries get richer while Periphery countries get poorer. Countries in the core will get richer overtime since the appliances that gain value are only made by core countries. There have also been economic historians that reject the idea of dependency theory one of them being Alexander Gerschenkron. With this rejection, Gerschenkron creates a theory known as backwardness. Alexander Gerschenkron developed the backwardness model as a hypothesis of economic growth. According to the model, the more backward an economy is at the commencement of economic development, the more likely certain circumstances will arise. Based off the information that has been portrayed and analysed in this assignment to my acknowledgement the differences between modernisation theory and dependency theory are Dependency theory is a way of looking at a country's economic development in terms of external factors such as political, economic, and cultural influences on national development plans. Modernization theory, on the other hand, is a way of looking at how traditional or underdeveloped countries evolve into modern societies. The main premise of dependency theory is that some countries become wealthy at the expense of others, particularly through colonisation. However, according to modernization theory, an advancement of technology will make all nations prosperous, and poor countries will be able to follow in the footsteps of richer, more advanced nations. The emphasis on Dependency theory is mostly concerned with impoverished and underdeveloped countries, whereas modernization is primarily concerned with wealthy and industrialised nations. Richer countries are the source of global poverty in dependency theory, but richer countries are the answer to the problem of poverty in modernization theory.