Fossil fuel is the main source of energy. In some countries, the use of alternative sources of energy is encouraged. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nonrenewable energy had played a vital role in our life. In the recent years, this source of energy is running out so some countries start to promote the use of renewable sources. In my opinion, the merits outweigh the drawbacks. There are considerable benefits of using the alternate sources over the conventional ones. The first benefit is that green energy sources such as wind, solar, geothermal are sustainable and limitless. While fossil fuels may run out in 40-60 years, the sun always shine and wind will blow everlastingly. Another advantage is that eco-friendly sources are contributing the environmental protection. The Earth is threatened by global warming and air pollution as a result of overusing conventional sources of energy. If governments insist on the generation of electricity from wind or sunlight, global warming is mitigated with reduced emission of toxic gases into the atmosphere. There are potential drawbacks of replacing conventional resources with cleaner ones. The first drawback is that investing in renewable technologies frequently comes with higher upfront costs than fossil fuels. Because green energy systems require technology to facilitate the process. This comes in the form of large turbines, fields of solar panels, large water facilities. Another disadvantage is that their strength and effectiveness depend on things like location, season, and weather patterns. For instance, the mid-west of the United States might have days with very high winds, while other days see no wind at all. In conclusion, the merits of eco-friendly and inexhaustible energy seem to outweigh the drawbacks of up-front costs and unstable effectiveness.