Some people say that the bicycles are a good, modern means of transportation. Other say riding a bicycle has clear disadvantages. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In the hustle and bustle of mega cities, how to travel around the city is what has become a hot debating issue. Some presume that with the modernization of lifestyle, bicycles are inappropriate choice to commute in the city; however, contradictory to this notion, bicycles are clearly a modern means of public transportation with merits for individuals and the environment. On the one hand, ordinary people are of the opinion that bicycles are failed to compete with conventional transportation at present. Consuming physical energy to ride a bike is considered to be slower than cars or trains. Therefore, it requires a great deal of time to get rid of traffic gridlock in crowded areas. Additionally, it creates concerns in terms of safety. Were students riding a bike to school, they may have accident in rush hours in the city and injuries would be inevitable. Thus, bicycles seemingly are not competeable with other modes of transportation. On the other hand, many people such as environmental activist strongly condemn the former view. They believe that nothing is as environmentally-friendly as bicycles for the environment. Not only does bicycle reduce the usage of fossil fuels, but it also increases the air quality. Demands for petrol would be definitely lower than now if people choose riding a bike over driving their own car. Therefore, exhaust fumes would not be emitted as much as now and this can possibly result in fresher air. More importantly, doing so would be cost-effective for citizens. Reasonably-priced bicycles can easily be rented or bought and there would not be requirements for buying train or bus tickets; even petrol payments would be eliminated. Thus, it is perceived to be economical as well. To summarize, although some may suppose that bicycles are not safe and fast enough for todays hectic lives, in my perception its benefits for people and their cities obviously outweigh the drawbacks.