Some people say that the bicycles are a good, modern means of transportation. Other say riding a bicycle has clear disadvantages. Discuss both view points and give your own opinion.

Bicycle is one of the human-oriented transportation which is serve the purpose of environment conservation. A number of individuals today taking advantage of the environmental and health benefits of using bicycles as a primary mode of transportation, whereas others believe that using this mean the most has own adverse repercussions. I am largely in agreement with this idea that notwithstanding potential safety concerns of this means of transportation, the benefits of riding bicycle far outweigh the risks. Detractors usually argue that cycling can be dangerous. This realization is based on numerous studies showing the fatality and serious injury rates for accidents involving bicycles are significantly higher than for most other vehicles. Even if a cyclist wears a helmet, the rest of their body not be preserved and bikes cannot withstand well to collisions. Furthermore, there are driving conditions in most major cities, where there might not be bike lanes or cars and motorbikes may not be considerate of cyclists’ right of way. The cyclists themselves cause danger if they are arrogant and try to maintain the same speeds or pass motorised vehicles. Overall, in such situations, riding bike might have fatal consequences. Nonetheless, the slightly increased risks involved in cycling do not outweigh its environmental and health benefit. Firstly, riding a bicycle, not only does not damage the environment, but also helps it by reducing air pollution. Since bicycles do not burn fossil fuels, this is the main reason many far-sighted, environmentally-conscious cities now encourage biking to work with bike lanes and bike-sharing schemes. Secondly, cycling assists individuals to boost their physical health especially when sedentary lifestyles are becoming increasingly due to advances in consumer technology. Finally, it appears that the possibility of commuting to some places, which are located in a narrow street or in nature such as mountains, are greatly more than other means. Thus, it is more likely to enjoy travelling by bike compared with other ones. In conclusion, despite the risks of riding a bike especially without bike helmet, nevertheless, there are a sizeable number of merits in using bike such as boosting the air quality and well-being.