Some people say that Television should be used for educational purpose and others believe that it should be used for entertainment.

Television, being a powerful audio-visual medium, and serves man's happy needs as a day-to-day friend. The main purposes for which for which television is used are educational and entertainment. It can't be stated that television should enhance educational purposes while denying the latter aspect. Hence, some people are of the view that it is educationally informative while other category of people consider television as an instrument for refreshment. Is television meant just for fun? No matter how it entertain us, what shows and programmes it offers, television is becoming an essential part of learning. This is truly a welcome development and can enhance educational needs. People who support this view first suggest that the availability of huge amount of information of television is the primary advantage. For instance, news channels shows up-to-date information on places, people, and changes around the world which is in fact serve more than newspaper. To add more, History channels widen students mind on history, geography, and general knowledge. Thus, pupils are more likely to be knowledge seekers. Moreover, it provides students a mine of information on almost any subject. Learners were once limited to educational books they had and the knowledge of their teachers. Now they can learn anything they want within their space and time. It is what happened in 2019 and 2020. Students were at homes due Covid but lacking regular classes didn't stop them from studying. There, television as a platform for online learning helped them  to continue with their studies. Even though, the television satisfies academic works, children tend to spend more time watching television neglecting their studies. On the other hand, there are many who say that television is one of the best means of relaxation. Apart from its educational value, other programmes including movies, cartoons and music shows can be entertaining and fun. Almost all children are fan of a superhero whom movies and cartoons introduce, music and shows can help people to grow their talents. Moreover, most of us support such activities as we want to be more talented in acting, singing, music and comedy. To add to this, house wives, after finishing their daily chores, try to relax for an hour watching serials and comedy shows. Thus, they seem to be happier than their husbands who sacrifice whole day for work. But, it is seen that sitting in front of the TV for hours screen makes people lazy and unhealthy. In conclusion, considering both services of television, my inclination is towards the need for enjoyment that can be further taken as a capsule to kill boredom, stress, and tension. What a man seeks freedom of life and monotonous from the workplace. I think, television is one of the most sought after media of entertainment which is enough to fulfill the desire for mental repose. Thus, it would be a better choice to use television for entertainment than for education