Some people say that studying at school is not important because most important things are learnt outside of school.

Schools are also well named as 'temples of learning'. But some people argue that most essential lessons of life are not taught there and therefore going to school is not essential. However, I disagree with this statement. Support for my opinion will be proved by looking at how a school provides a disciplined environment and teaches important life skills. For one, schools house a disciplined environment in their classrooms. This helps many young students learn properly and effectively, who otherwise would have been more focused on playing and other activities rather than studying. For example, a recent survey conducted on effects of different schooling methods on young pupils indicated that a more disciplined routine and strictness made children more obedient and improved scores of a majority of students, especially notorious ones. Hence, schools provide a framework to children so that they can develop the discipline required for learning new things on their own, which is usually not available outside a learning institution. In addition to this, standardized school curriculum ensures that children learn at least the basic skills required further in their lives. For example, many topics such as performing simple arithmetic, learning basic rules of language and developing a logical approach for thinking are essential for proper conduct of a person in modern society. Schools provide a system to teach these skills to young children and hence their importance cannot be undermined. To conclude, schools teach basic life skills which are very important to a individual for functioning and contributing to the humanity. Therefore, studying at a formal institution is an integral part of one's life and cannot be skipped.