Some people say that smoking should be banned in public areas.

The use of cigarettes is increasing at an alarming rate which has become a grave concern nowadays. It is believed that smoking must be banned in public places. I accord with this notion due to some reasons which I will discuss in this essay. To commence with, there must be prohibition on the use of smoking in public areas because smoke released by cigarettes creates hazardous health issues like lung cancer, oral cancer and asthma not only in active smokers, but also in passive smokers. These people range from children and pregnant women. Millions of people lose their lives due to the effects of smoking. Moreover, cigarette smoke contains harmful substance and chemicals which produces detrimental gases like carbon dioxide, carbon mono dioxide and nitrogen. These gases have been proved very dangerous for environment. To carry on, cigarettes which are thrown by smokers which have still spark can cause great loss especially in hot and dry weather. For example, there have been many cases when crops of farmers burnt due to the carelessness of smokers. As a result, farmers suffered from financial crisis. Apart from this, prohibiting people from smoking openly can put bad impact on children and youth because they are the future of the country. They need to be stayed away from smoking and its effects. Therefore, restriction on people regarding smoking habit is fruitful in many ways. In conclusion, undoubtedly, smoking is dangerous for people and surroundings for reasons which have already been mentioned. Freedom to smoke in public must not be given to smokers.