Some people say that playing games teaches us about life. Others emphasize that only practical experience teaches us valuable lessons about life. Which statement do you agree with and why? Include specific details and examples to support your choice.

Games are considered as a fun activity to pass time. Games can be played indoor like carom, chess as well as outdoor like football, volleyball and so on. There is always an on- going argument, few people believe that playing games teaches a person valuable life lessons while others think that it can only be gained through practical experience. In my opinion, games teach us handful of lessons. Games put us through lots of similar scenarios which resembles practical life situations. While playing any game there is a sense of competition amongst the players which help them to perform better in the game in order to compete and win. Playing a football game for instance, is a good example, where players compete not only with the opponent team but also with themselves. This sense of competition learnt on field is crucial for self-development and can be utilized in many other situations. Furthermore, sports hone skills in different sectors of life too. In many sports, team work is essential for winning the game. Working in a group and interacting with other team members not only inculcates decision making skills but also develops communication skills. In one decent study it was reported that people involved in multiple games show better performance in their profession. Lastly, an addition to above skills, gamers also tend to control their emotions and setbacks. Games are not always about winning; one team faces failure while other team wins. But they have the skill to overcome their failures and work on the gap, which makes them not only emotionally strong but also gives them strength to rise up again. To summarize, there’s a lot to learn in every game let that be outdoor or indoor, only the perspective is what that makes the difference.