BABIES IN MURKY MARKET OF INDIA

IVF and embryo transfer for human infertility has resulted in the birth of over 4 million babies. In Vitro Fertilization (IVF) has become a boon for those deprived of progeny. Bestowing parenthood through this technic has brought joy to many couples. Having fail to conceive naturally, people resort to this technique. India’s first and the world’s second IVF baby, Kanupriya alias Durga, was born in Kolkata in 1978. Since then, the field of Assisted Reproduction Technology (ART) has developed rapidly. The guidelines rightly address the possible misuse of ART, such as sale of embryos and stem cells (1. 6. 11. 3), recommend that sale or transfer of human embryos or gametes to any party outside the country must be prohibited. Within India, such embryos could be made available to academic researchers, with both the donor and the receiver, having no commercial transaction or intent, says (National Regulation of ART clinic in India, 2005). Legally adopting babies has become an integrated part of human life. Today, the illegal adoption is like an untraceable hidden layer of the murky markets playing a huge role in stealing and selling babies. There are number of cases which reported the misuse of this platform for conducting the criminal and illegal activities such as adoption, surrogacy and IVF treatment in a hidden manner. The innovative technology, digitalization has caused various malpractices and trafficking. Legal adoption security has become a major concern in India, said (Shubhdeep Kaur & Sukhchandan Randhawa, 2020). This article throws light on the objectives of child adoption in India and the development of marketing regulations by the government and to sensitize people about murky markets and make IVF treatment accessible to all childless at reasonable price.