Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organised group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many are of the opinion that children, in their leisure time, should be motivated by their parents to join certain structured group activities. Others, however, believe that self-learning is crucial for children to keep themselves engaged instead of being directed. This essay discusses both perspectives and why I believe that children need advice on how to stay occupied in their free time. On one hand, young adolescents might not have the knowledge of various alternatives that exist to keep themselves busy in their free time. So, they need their parent’s motivation till they reach adulthood. For instance, a four-year-old might not have any knowledge about community service, such as, spending time in old age home, and lending a hand in beach cleaning drives. Henceforth, parents need to encourage their children to join such structured group activities so their leisure time can be channelised to best use. On the other hand, some believe that this decision should be left with the children to decide on how do they want to spend their free time. They could enact what they have learnt from the past, for example, children might start helping in daily household chores since they observe their parents do it. This will not only help them inculcate good habits for rest of their lives, but will also help them stay busy. But it can lead to some adversities, for instance, children might start watching television throughout their leisure time since they see their family members doing so. Hence, children need their parent’s motivation to better manage their time. To conclude, children do not always know how they should keep themselves busy with the right activities and if they are left to decide on their own, they might end up imbibing a wrong habit. Hence, parents should keep their children encouraged and motivated to join certain group activities in their leisure time so they can not only inculcate good learnings but also put their time to best use.