Some people say that parents should decide on what kind of treatment their children should receive, while others believe that this is the state’s responsibility. Discus both views and give your opinion.

Some people believe that the state should be responsible on what kind of treatment children should receive. However, others feel parents are the ones to decide for their children. To begin with, the state should decide on what type of treatment children should receive. The reason behind this is for a fact that the state is aware of all genuine medical facilities as it regulates them. Therefore, it will recommend the ones entitled to provide services accordingly with certified and accredited health care providers. For example, a child requires to be seen by a specialist, the state has a record of accredited ones hence the child receives the best medical care. It is unlikely for parents as they are not aware of all accredited facilities. Furthermore, the state networks with other countries. There are international conferences annually like global AIDS conferences. As a result, countries share common problems encountered to seek help from others. Following this, they might come up with referral agreements to countries which are able to deal with certain medical challenges. For instance, Botswana refers some of its cancer patients for chemotherapy to South Africa as per agreement. This elucidates why the state should be liable for children’s treatment instead of parents. In contrary, parents should decide on what kind of treatment their children should get. Alternative medicine has proven to produce results quickly than conventional medicine. For example, parents with an obese child might opt for gastric by –pass in order for their child to lose weight as fast as possible. So if it was to be decided by the state, it would refer to physical fitness instructors and dieticians which would take a while. That being out clarifies why parents should decide on the treatment their children should get. Moreover, they will satisfied that they were in-charge of their children‘s health. In conclusion, it is worth noting that the state being in control of the treatment that children should receive is fairly clear. However, I assert that both the state and parents should take part.