Some people say that parents should control their children’s behavior from a very young age. What do you think?

It is believed that some traditional parenting styles and methods, such as enforcing rules and requiring children’s compliance, are essential to children’s development. However, I share the view that parenting style should be flexible based on the age of children. It is undeniable that strict monitoring is possibly one of the most effective methods in overcoming upbringing difficulties, including protecting children from dangers and guiding them to the right manner. Children are adventuresome and full of curiosity, making them vulnerable to injuries and accidents. Therefore, rules setting is necessary to protect children from these potential risks. For example, forbidding accessing knives, microwaves or medicines may prevent many unexpected problems from occurring. Furthermore, children are likely to absorb bad behaviors, such as spitting, nose-picking and saying foul language, as they are unable to identify what is the right thing to do. With adults’ intervention, these behaviors could be stopped and professional etiquettes would be developed from their early childhood. However, parental supervision should be lifted gradually as children grow older, especially when it becomes clear that the intervention restrains children’s mental development. Many parents may be stuck in the assumption that their children’s success is synonymous with their superior parenting. Therefore, they tend to push their kids into activities they might not otherwise choose, or impress upon them personality traits that may not come so naturally. This may deprive children of a solid sense of self as well as stifle their innate characters and talents. Even worse, children are unable to make decisions by themselves in the future. As mentioned above, imposing rules on children is determined as much by the age of children. For younger children, parental monitoring is imperative to ensure children’s safety. When children become knowledgeable and responsible with age, rules should be phased out.