Some people say that online learning programmes are more effective for adults than traditional face-to-face learning in a classroom. Discuss this statement and say which you would prefer. Write about: costsstudy hoursfeedback and supportisolation

Online learning is very popular where I live – there are even free courses for people to do from different universities. There are several advantages to doing an online course. They are particularly good for people who have full time jobs, many say that they like studying online. They mean that you are free to study where and when you can without having any lessons, so it is easier to fit study around family and work. They are also often cheaper than traditional courses. In my experience another advantage has been that I have had personal feedback and support from a tutor which has really helped to make sure that my assignments are appropriate. However, after I had started an online course as part of my work, I used to sometimes feel quite isolated and alone. I don’t really like communicating via email and didn’t make friends with anyone else on the course. So there were advantages and disadvantages. On the whole, my preference would be to have face to face lessons I think but these are just not possible with a full time job and a family to look after. I may have to wait till I have retired before I do any more studying.