Some people say that libraries will eventually be replaced by online platforms for reading in the future, while others say that they have irreplaceable roles. Discuss and give opinion.

With the growing prevalence of the Internet, proponents of computerization claim that traditional libraries will soon be replaced by digital information centers. Meanwhile, their opponents state that they will play an essential role in our society. In my opinion, I firmly believe that the latter is more favorable, not only to the future but also to the past. On the one hand, the digitalization of literary archives does have some significant advantages. First and foremost, the users’ reading experience will be greatly streamlined, providing a level of convenience superlative to any libraries. Not only is reading online generally free, but it is also time-saving simply due to the high processing speed of modern computers. To be more specific, the action of searching through aisles of books to find the desired title can be simplified into a few clicks, potentially saving readers from hours of scouring countless files. In addition, the variety of information one may come across is also increased significantly on the Internet, allowing for further insights into his subject of research. Furthermore, switching to electronic libraries is also largely considered to be an environmentally friendly solution because of the fact that a hundred thousand trees are cut down every day to produce papers according to rough estimations. Therefore, by reading e-books instead, deforestation may be reduced and its subsequent effects on the environment may be minimized. On the other hand, it would be thoughtless to ignore the undeniable values of conventional libraries. To begin with, the traditional reading rooms help bolster the efficiency of the reading process. It is clear that the convenience of online repositories comes at the cost of human focus and material comprehension. Since most digital archives are free to access, their owners often incorporate advertisements into the website interface to pay for their upkeep and generate profit. Consequently, users may be distracted by the flashy animations and the eye-catching headings resulting in a reduction of focus as well as a poorer understanding of the material. In contrast, the long-established athenaeums are often under certain regulations to ensure a comfortable experience for any readers such as keeping phones silent or talking quietly. Additionally, when the quality of books is regarded, it is often safe to assume that books found in libraries are usually of better quality because of the rigorous process that a paperback has to go through in order to be approved by the repositories. Moreover, numerous libraries also serve as hallmarks of nations. Due to their special attribute of being knowledge vaults of civilizations, libraries have always been revered as cultural symbols of human development even since their very conception. For example, the Great Library of Alexandria is often regarded as a wonder of the classical world because it was the origin of several great works that came to define our modern society. In conclusion, I strongly believe that even though the advantages of online reading platforms may be countless, they plainly cannot fulfill the role of traditional libraries.