Some people say that it would be better if the majority of employees worked from home instead of traveling to a workplace every day. However, others feel working from home shouldn’t be encouraged.

People’s opinions differ as to whether or not it would better if a large number of employees worked remotely instead of traveling to an office. While there are some strong arguments against working from home, I still believe that it is more convenient to telecommute. There are two main reasons why people might argue that working from home should not be encouraged. Firstly, some believe that one significant downside of working from home is that it jeopardizes the cohesion of teams. To explain, employees working remotely will not have space or opportunity to converse with colleagues in person; instead, everything will take place on the laptop screen. Furthermore, unlike working offline, employees are deprived of opportunities to meet and interact with coworkers outside of working hours. As a result, mutual understanding would steadily weaken, which can lead to poor teamwork performance. Secondly, many think that telecommuting causes to loss of concentration of employees. They might be especially prone to distraction without in-person supervision. In spite of the above arguments, I support the view that working from home is more convenient than going to the office. From a business perspective, adopting the telecommuting policy can help cut operating costs. To illustrate, certain categories of expenses can be reduced such as office space, supplies, and utilities, which can be exorbitant in megacities such as Tokyo, Shanghai, Beijing, and so on. Consequently, they can save a huge amount of money and allocate this money into reinvestment, technology, training programs, thereby expanding the company’s scale. In addition, according to remote employees, working from home can help them avoid annoying troubles caused by severe weather or traffic jams. In conclusion, telecommuting policy certainly has its drawbacks. However, I am of the opinion that it is beneficial to both employees and their companies for the above compelling reasons especially during covid 19 epidemics, it is more advisable to apply.