Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about a person’s culture and character from their choice of clothes. Do you agree or disagree?

Some believe that what we are wearing can says a lot about our culture and character. In another word, the choice of clothes is not irrelevant to one’s cultural background and personality. In fact, there is a great relevance between them. This idea has its own supporters while some others may refuse it. I see myself on the supporters’ side of the idea based on different reasons which I try to discuss in what follows. Firstly, there is no doubt that one’s cultural background has an undeniable influence on their lifestyle and habits. Our choice of clothes is not anything but a part of our lifestyle. In addition, in certain cultures, there are specific rules and beliefs which are respected by the people who are living or used to live in that cultural context. For example, in different religions there are different dress codes for people and event. In some specific cultures, different genders are distinguished to some level by the way they appear in the public and the clothes they wear. Therefore, not only one’s culture influences their way of dressing, but also will it be an inseparable cause of their choice of clothes. Furthermore, what we ae wearing, reflects our thoughts and emotions and therefore our character. For instance, a happier person usually chooses those colorful types of clothes while someone who takes life seriously is more likely to wear formal clothes with less color variation on them. I myself, usually do the same when I am extremely happy. I choose very colorful clothes if I go shopping on those days of my life. Had it not been my happiness and emotions, I would not have any colorful clothes. In fact I regret buying some of those clothes when I look at them later resulting in wearing the same nit and less colored suits and shirts that I usually buy. To sum up, it seems that our choice of clothes is remarkably influenced by our culture and character. The result would be the possibility that others can tell about those of ours by looking at our clothes. It can sometimes even go further and become the possibility of being judged by others based on what we are wearing. It is because of two main facts that cultures form one’s lifestyle and our inners senses and character is reflected by the way we dress. Therefore, talking about a person’s culture and character based on their choice of clothes seems to be logical.