Some people say that it is best to be loyal and to work for one company during one’s life. Others take the opposite view and say it is better to change jobs frequently in one’s life. Discuss these positions, using specific examples of both. Then tell which one you agree with and explain why

The option of changing jobs has never been easier than in today’s world, and workers often are torn between staying put or seeking new horizons. This new development in the business world causes much headache but ultimately comes down to a personal decision. While this paper will outline the points for staying in one company, the better option is to change jobs due to inspiration and new friendships. The concept of working in one company is undoubtedly compelling on its face, but some critical elements of this decision should be fleshed out for a better understanding of the motivations involved. To start, staying on one job allows a worker to get comfortable and comfort cannot be underestimated with regards to job production. To add to this point, people like to see the same people and have the same responsibilities day in and day out, just like a machine. Next, long-term work friendships are enticing elements of staying in one place because a colleague can often effect positive change. For instance, a news story recently featured a man who had terminal cancer and wanted to die, but the lifelong friendships he made at his job, motivated him to live. While remaining in one place may seem a convincing choice, a look at alternating jobs can alter that perception. Take into consideration the aspect of inspiration and how very often in one company a person becomes uninspired and then less productive, whereas a new job brings new energy and thus new motivation. With this in mind, also consider the fresh start from a new job direction; for example, if you had a terrible experience such as sexual harassment, you can move on to a new job and not have to suffer under the previous oppressive regime. Comfort is often viewed as a functional aspect to life, but comfortable people are often less innovative or inspired. Therefore, feeling uncomfortable from a new job is better. Sitting on the fence is not an option in today’s business world, and flexibility is a prized commodity that every worker should aspire to reach. Changing jobs teaches flexibility and allows us to benefit from new friendships and inspiration. The best decision is to be a job changer! Overall the debate between changing jobs or remaining stable is close, but there are more advantages to matriculating to a new line of work.