Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills.

It is important to consider the methods of teaching. Some people believe that less time is spent on learning technical skills and too much hours learning facts. This essay agrees that large amount of period is allocated to the studying of theories and less time on proficiencies. To begin with, one reason why huge period is devoted to studying facts is the way that the educational institutions are designed. Too much emphasis is placed on learning hypothesis, especially in developing counties. For example, The Sun recently reported that 95% of graduates from Nigeria had no opportunities to gain expertise while they were in school because of increased course work as the semester progresses. Nonetheless, if they had gained competence, it would not be as a result of the huge course work. Moreover, schools are not equipped with state of the art laboratories. This is one of the reasons why it is more focused on facts. Students who have an interest to learn practical knowledge are left with few opportunities to do so. For instance, The Guardian recently reported that more than 95% of student who showed interest in gaining expertise while in the university had no opportunities to do so because their institutions lacks quality laboratories. Notwithstanding, if standard laboratories had been provided in those institutions, the students would have been able to learn these skills. In conclusion, due to the methods of education and lack of equipments, I believe these are the reasons why much time is spent on learning facts than practical skills.