Some people say that history offers no practical benefit to society while others claim that history teaches us to understand the present.

The question of whether history offers a benefit to society is one which is debated. Some people claim it is useful while others say it is a waste of time. I believe that history is an important tool for us to learn from past human errors and is vital for those who work in certain professions. On one side of the debate are those people who argue that history really offers nothing for society today. They claim that, for the majority of jobs, there is no requirement for people to have any prior knowledge of history. Good examples are professions such as accountants, retail workers or even those on the construction sites, who go about their daily work without any need to know about what happened during events in the past. There are other people who claim that history is extremely relevent to the world today as it is a tool to learn from our past mistakes. History teaches us that atrocities from times gone by, such as war, should not be repeated. Hence, by teaching the young people of today about this past behaviour will hopefully prevent history repeating itself. Many people around the world were subjected to slavery and we know now that this type of human treatment is unethical and immoral.  In my view, I support the idea of teaching children about the events of the past because I would hate to think that we did not learn from the mistakes humanity made. I believe it does have a practical benefit as some professions require a detailed knowledge of historical events. These would be teachers and professors at university as well as those people who work in archaelogy or social science.  In conclusion, while some people say that history is not necessary, I firmly believe it has an important place in our society as it teaches us many ways to avoid making future mistakes.