Some people say that history is not important and necessary anymore. Others say that we must know about the past to understand the future.

In the present age, the importance of history has sparked much debate. Some people assert that it is worthless to learn history whereas many others argue that having a grasp of history is beneficial for the future. From my perspective, I am in favor of the latter view. Convincing argument can be made that understanding history has plenty of merits. To start with, when we have a deep understanding about the history of a country, particularly how previous generations fought for freedom, we might respect peace and the lives in the present day. In other words, we always feel satisfied and grateful for what we have and have a tendency to devote our effort for greater achievements. This leads to the full development of the national economy and society. Moreover, people can learn a lot from the mistakes in the past to make life better in the future. For example, in the years of the twentieth century, there were numerous countries imposing the laws of limiting trade across boundaries. These legislations impede the development of the economy and worsen diplomatic relations among nations. Instead of that, governments these days introduce trade policies and encourage export and import, which not only offer countries the opportunities to specialize and innovate but also give citizens a higher standard of living. Admittedly, we do not need to spend too much time on history. The reason for this is that people should focus on the present moment rather than look back and regret about the past things. It might be said that everything changes continually, life now is vastly different from one one hundred or one thousand years ago from concept to behaviour. Even so, history is valuable to understand to a certain extent. In conclusion, while I would concede that sometimes it is useless to invest a large amount of time on history, I am convinced that having history knowledge is more advantageous and crucial for the future.