Increasing the the price of petrol is the best way to solve the growing problem with this statement what other measure you think might be effective

There is a view that appying a surge in the price of petrol can help in mitigating the traffic and pollution related concerns. I perceive that this can certainly be one of the effective measures; however, getting rid of such issues should be taken as a multi-pronged approach and requires not only government, but also individuals to participate equally. To begin with, admittedly, increase in petrol cost can solve traffic and pollution problems, as with a rise in the expenditure on petrol, people may start avoiding using their vehicles as much as possible. With lesser number of cars on roads, a significant fall may be recorded in the level of sound and air pollution. For instance, in India, owing to the sky-rocketing fuel prices, most individuals now prefer taking public transport over their own vehicles, and it has proven to be a successful measure in many Southern cities. Nevertheless, prices can only be raised delibritely upto a certain extent and hence, there are chances of failure in implementing this measure alone. Cominng to other methodologies that can be used to decrease the traffic and pollution level, one is implementation of stringent rules by the government. Fear of law is important to enforce good conduct among people, therefore, such regulations, if implemented, may help in making people aware as well as responsible towards these world-wide problems. To illustrate, Delhi government applied odd-even vehicle rule, as a result of which they witnessed a shocking improvement in the quality of air, as the citizens also followed the rule responsibly. Additionally, individuals can also contribute by using public transport and by travelling in groups using carpools. Above-mentioned ways can definitely result in decreased traffic and pollution level. To conclude, hike in the petrol prices can surely aid in dropping the rush on the roads, in turn, reducing the air and sound pollution level. Although I opine such an approach should be collaborated with other equally crucial methods which involves government to implement strict rules and people to follow them diligently.