Some people say that government should increase the tax on petrol in order to decrease traffic and pollution. Do you agree with this opinion?

Over the years, educational institutions in many countries have relied on tests and examinations as the gold standard for grading students. Despite the numerous benefits of using these methods to grade school-goers, the drawbacks cannot be overlooked. This essay will discuss the merits and demerits of tests and examination in details. The main advantage of having these testing systems in place is the fact that without them, it will be impossible to determine the efficacy of the lectures and classes. This is because, exams are based off the source materials educators use in training their pupils, and to ascertain their level of understanding of that topic, the test is required. For example, during my student years in Russia, tests were handed out to us at the end of every topic, and this helped us learn better as it exposed areas where we still had some misunderstandings. Consequently, the tutors were able to pass on information more effectively with us. This clearly shows the value of examinations and tests in the school system. On the other hand, tests and examinations have been shown to be a poor indicator of a students academic prowess. This is as a result of the testing environment in educational institutions, which has been shown to affect the actual performance of an average test taker, regardless of the level of preparation for the quiz. For instance, a research report from the University of Saratov in 2017, showed that test takers scored higher when the environment was more conducive than their counterparts taking a similar test in a less comfortable scenario. This shows that biases in the results of tests occur, and are not related to the students' ability, but as a result of the testing environment. Consequently defeating the purpose of the examinations. In conclusion, tests and examinations have been vital to every academic institution mainly because it serves as a feedback for teachers, and I believe this reason far outweighs the drawback, that is, tests may not actually reveal the level of understanding of the student.