Some people say that giving a smaller amount of money weekly to children will help them become more capable as they grow older.

Many people think that giving some money to children on a weekly basis will assist them in becoming more capable when they grow older. I personally disagree with the statement and the following essay will discuss some of my reasons for disagreement. Firstly, by giving a small amount of money to children regularly we are not teaching them about being independent. It is a fact that children are learning many things from their parents in the early age and parents must do their best in becoming a good role model for them. By giving money to children routinely, these parents are teaching their children that they do not have to work hard or do something important to earn money. They will learn that someone will give them some money every week which they could spend on. For example, I can recall some of my cousins who regularly get a good amount of money from their parents and yet they have not build up any habit of being independent or any sense of saving money for the rainy days. Secondly, the money could be misused by the children as they could spend it for buying inappropriate stuff. It is undeniable that children are not yet mature and do not have the wisdom in managing their own money. They might purchase things which might be inappropriate for them, especially in third world countries where children are allowed to buy cigarettes or alcoholic beverages. Many teenagers, for example, get money from their parents and spend those for buying drugs or cigarettes which eventually harm their future rather than making any good. In conclusion, some people believe giving children a small amount of money each week would help them in becoming more capable when they become adults. I do not agree with the statement as I believe that it could spoil them and the money could be misused. I agree if parents would teach children to earn some money by having a part-time job during the summer holiday, therefore they will appreciate their income and spend it wisely.