Some people say that giving a smaller amount of money weekly to children will help them become more capable as they grow older.

Caregivers share the common ground when it comes to childcare activities. In this regard, showing the correct ropes for a growing child to become a shining star in life has been a monopoly for years. Giving weekly pocket money for their wards seem to be a helpful method to make them grow as more competent individuals, according to some parents. While this practice is being beneficial to a certain extent, I also believe it has its own drawbacks. Money given on a weekly basis to children could help them to become adept at financial management in future. This is because right from childhood they would know the value of money and what can be bought with how much cost. Besides, they would have also been exposed to situations wherein they have to save a fortnight’s money to get something essential. For example, a recent study on child’s attitude to finance, 2014, presents that, if Rs 50 is given per week to a child, the response would be planned expenditure in the fourth week in comparison with the first week. All in all, this change in perception of finance and its efficient planning would definitely help out in the future life of every child. On the flipside, the penny allotted for children at an early age could deteriorate their lives. There are high probabilities that they may be misled due to their acquaintance. Take for an instance, a child whose essentials are taken care by parents and does not want to spend money on anything, a companion of the child, in particular at the adolescent stage, might make him indulge in some anti- social activities like smoking or drinking. Therefore, until a child gets matured to become aware of the ins and outs of life, even a single penny given would drift away him or her from the path of life. In conclusion, though a grown-up man or woman takes some time to get on grips economically and attain a social status, it is all a part and parcel of life. In my opinion, the early stage of life, childhood should only be spent for having academic skills as well as pedagogic learning of basic expenses. But if the mother’s and father’s trust this method, the expenses are to be followed by them to borne fruitful results out of this.