Some people say that excessive noise should be a criminal offence, while others say they should be free to make noise without limitation. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is argued that extreme noise must be considered as an unlawful activity, while others believe that people should not be restricted to create noise. This essay agrees with the first given notion because deafening sound can result in permanent hearing loss in older generations and also causes sleep disturbance for many, thus it can be called a crime despite the belief among people that it is a human right to live on their own terms and playing loud music is a part of their lifestyle. Unreasonable sound can lead to sleep deprivation and also affect hearing ability of a person. In other words, playing loud music for a longer period of time, especially at night can be disturbing for others. Moreover, long exposure to extreme noise can hamper hearing ability and disturb the normal sleep cycle. For instance, according to a recent research conducted in Australia, it was found that older people are more likely to suffer from hearing loss if exposed to excessive noise pollution and deprives a person of his normal sleep. Hence, it is certainly a criminal offence to create noise pollution. On the other hand, several people think that it is their right to play loud music and live as per their choice. This is to say that restricting them from creating extreme sound is not right because they consider it is a violation of their rights. Furthermore, many say that it is a matter of perspective, therefore, different people have different lifestyles. To exemplify, several people prefer to live in a peaceful environment while it is disturbing for others. Thus, there should not be a limit to make noise as it is a part of an individual's lifestyle. To conclude, enormous sound pollution can lead to hearing loss and sleep disturbance, which makes it an unlawful act. However, others think it is completely normal to produce extreme noise because it is one of their human rights.