some people say that everything

The number of nuclear power stations have significantly risen during the last few decades. This trend demonstrates the growing popularity of this source, which looks promising in our eternal struggle for affordable and unlimited energy. However, there are some undeniable drawbacks to nuclear energy causing disasters we cannot ignore. Thus, I partly agree with the idea that nuclear power is a more reliable solution to the international need for energy than other sources of energy. It is indisputable that nuclear energy is highly stable which indicates that the energy generated is non-stop. Moreover, the amount of energy is tremendous, estimated to be ten times denser than the energy released whilst burning fossil fuels. One nuclear plant's ability to provide a quarter of New York City electricity is iron-cast evidence of the case. In addition, nuclear power reactors do not produce any carbon emissions, which is an enormous advantage over renewable energy having bad effects on animals and their habitats. Producing atomic energy is not only carbon-low but also relatively cheap, which can get even lower thanks to the advances in technology. Nevertheless, the disadvantages are also considerable in this day and age. However safe it may seem, nuclear power can create a disaster if it explodes. The Chernobyl disaster in Ukraine in which the death toll exceeded 60, 000 strongly exemplifies the idea. Nuclear power can also have a substantial impact on the environment through mining and water discharge. Although the operation cost is affordable, the initial one to get a nuclear plant into work is very expensive. Moreover, radioactive waste can leave a persistent impact on the environment for even a thousand years. Despite being an environment-friendly source of energy, nuclear power is still considered a non-renewable one. If we get reliant on it, there might be even more problems in the future. In short, nuclear power has its downsides and benefits like other sources of energy. It is up to us whether the power is good or bad.