Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end world poverty and hunger. Others say that economic growth is damaging the environment and must stop now.

Nowadays, economic growth is one of the most important factors that contribute to the development of a country. Some people believe that economic growth can solve the problems of poverty and hunger, while others argue that the rapid growth of the economy results in damage to the environment. In this essay, both views will be discussed and in my opinion, I completely agree with the latter statement. There are many reasons why people agree that the problem of poverty and hunger can be alleviated by developing the economy. Firstly, to remove poverty, the government invests money to open new industries. As a result, there would be a lot of job opportunities for jobless people, and they can use their salary to buy essential stuff for their family. Additionally, in countries with extreme weather, food prices are higher than in other countries. Because of the economic growth, those countries can apply advanced technology to agriculture. Consequently, individuals will be able to purchase food at the most affordable prices. However, economic development also damages our environment. To raise the output, farmers are using more chemical fertilizers and pesticides, which cause serious water contamination and affect people’s health. Moreover, factories release emissions into the air, which causes greenhouse effects. This phenomenon results in global warming and this is bad for the environment. In conclusion, although addressing the problem of poverty and hunger is essential, I believe that government should lower the development of the economy in order to protect the environment