The brightest star in the sky

unjun is a fifth-grader girl but she lives in Lan village, a tiny village that settles in the countryside of Shanxi, Taiyuan China. She is a carefree, optimistic individual that devotes herself to her passions, like drawing, singing, dancing. But It all changed a year ago, as an accident struck her family. Her dad was a chef who works at a restaurant and is the only source of income in the household. It was 2 am at night when her dad finished late-night shift returning home with a bike, he got hit by a coal truck. Although he was soon sent to the hospital, he passed due to the loss of too much blood. It was a dark rainy night on a nameless road in the countryside, there are no cameras and witnesses so it became increasingly hard for police to find out who was responsible. The only evidence is some coal chunks lying beside the victim suggesting it was a coal truck. Junjun’s mom has a part-ti e job earning around 2000 yuan(400 Cad), her mom could only find a part-time job because her grandpa needs to be taken care of. Despite the tough condition, her mom would still arrange 300 yuan per month for her painting class. “Education is extremely important, that’s the truth I found out after 20 years. ” Her mom said during the interview. “I never got the chance to finish high school due to poor family conditions, but I will do my best to provide Junjun an education, which is also her father’s dream. ” When asked about what she wants to become when she grows up, Junjun said immediately a painting teacher, because she could be anything on the canvas, a fish, a cat, or even a tree. Junjun’s school teacher told us that Junjun is a shy individual may be due to family conditions but she is extremely active and passionate about the blackboard paintings tasks that her teacher assigned ( in Chinese elementary school they have a person in charge of drawing and decorating the blackboard according to holidays, for example, in New Year they will be asked to draw dragons. ) and she is When talking about painting, her eyes were glittering and filled with joy. “We are using up saving that her dad gave us, once we used all of it, I really don’t know how we are going to get through this. Painting is a crucial part of Junjun’s life, but it’s becoming unaffordable. ” Junjun’s mom teared up when we asked her about her future plan. “ I will use the money want to use the money I receive to provide Junjun a promising education and use it on medication for her grandpa. It’s ok for me to be starved, but Junjun’s too young…”