Pollution of rivers, lakes and seas is a major concern for people who seek to protect the environment. What are the possible causes of water pollution, and what effects does this have on animal life and human society?

Water is the most essential component to life as mankind knows it. It should not be difficult to point out exactly how imperative it is in the daily functioning and maintenance for every type of life, whether the organism relies on water for hydration or if it is aquatic. However, water pollution is one of the serious ecological treats that mankind faces currently. Water pollution has many sources. The most polluting of them are the city sewage and industrial waste discharged into the rivers. The facilities to treat waste water are not adequate in every city, especially the poorer city. Presently, only about 10% of the waste water generated is treated, the rest is discharged as it is into the water bodies. In some places, sewage can be treated or recycled but in most places, such waste finds way into rivers. Every cause has an effect, and there are numerous effects from continued water pollution. On human health, billions people are sickened every year due to consuming unsafe water. Those sickened are done so by the multitude of disease-causing bacteria and viruses that originate from waste. Water pollution creates a multitude of problems on the environment as well as human health. When water pollution infiltrates an aquatic system, a previously healthy ecosystem that relied on a precarious relationship between animals, plants, bacteria and fungi is in danger. As we know, "Water is life's matter and matrix, mother and medium. There is no life without water. " We have to save water. If everyone will follow their responsibility against water to protect it from polluted then it will be easy to get a clean and healthy drinking water as well as healthy environment. To address the issue, the government and society should make a concerted effort to find solutions.