Some educationalists say that every child should be taught how to play a musical instrument.

Some experts argue that playing musical instruments should be added to the school’s curriculum. In response to this statement, the essay will maintain an impartial stance with learning how to play a musical instrument due to two main reasons. To commence with, children should learn how to play a musical instrument due to the fact that it can improve children’s memory and cognitive skills. Thus, it helps to enhance Math performance as one of the most fundamental subjects in the school’s curriculum. According to extensive research conducted by Harvard University in 2018 on 100 children grade 5 learning to play guitars 2 hours per week and 100 those who not learn to any musical instruments, it indicated that 82/100 students learning to play guitar got scored A compared to 45/100 those who not playing any musical instruments got scored A in the same Math contest. Therefore, children should be taught how to play a musical instrument to enhance studying performance at one’s beginning development stage. On the other hand, learning to play a musical instrument should not be a compulsory subject. To be more specific, being engaged in learning music performances may be expensive as well. For instance, parents must pay for weekly music lessons, books, rehearsals or concerts, costumes, examination fees, or musical instruments. Thus, not all families can facilitate or afford their offspring’s musical instrument pursuits. In conclusion, this essay has provided an argument for an impartial stance concerning teaching musical performance at schools: on the one hand, playing a musical instrument could be beneficial in children’s brain function improvement; on the other hand, it should be an elective subject depends on parent’s financial resources.