The brightest star in the sky

My name is Gary Gu, I’m a grade 11 student from Lord Byng, and I’m running for internal VP. In my spare time, I debate, play basketball, DJ and take photos. I like to do things differently. I am decisive, weird, optimistic, confident. I’m the current project leader for our VanFam project. I’m suitable for internal VP because I have been a part of Y2Y since the very beginning. I witnessed the growth and expansion of Y2Y throughout the year. However, following our impressive rapid growth, there are a lot of problems that we need to overcome. Under the status quo the club is operating, but it is not operating efficiently and achieving our full potential, mainly because we have a lot of internal issues. For example, tasks and roles assigned to the group members are vague. When we hosted the symposium, some group members didn’t have anything to do while others had to maintain a heavy workload, we did assigned everyone to search for resource. But how? What specific way that we can help our group members to attain resource, how well did the group member actually execute it? Is there any follow up by leaders? “No” I’ve had group member asking me what is the symposium about two weeks before it taking place. The detachment between leaders and ordinary group members within our club ultimately lead to the not so pleasant ending to our symposium. Albert Einstein said that "Failure is success in progress”. It is not embarrassing to make mistakes, but it is embarrassing to not learn from our mistakes that we made. As a Youth2Youth Veteran and from my experience working with other members of the club knowing each member’s personalities and strength and weaknesses. I would ensure every member of Y2Y gets an opportunity to shine and achieve their goal as individual and team. 1st I will create detail operation plan on projects, including rationale, feasibility of project and challenge that we may face. 2nd I will follow up on every group member that I have assign task to, make sure they are in a position where they feel comfortable, happy and motivated. 3rd I want to make Youth2Youth a cohesive piece of cohort, and I want to create a safe and fun atmosphere for everyone like a family. To do this we need to enhance our team chemistry, this can be done by organizing internal activities inside our group every two weeks such as field trip (after covid) online gaming, (mafia, scribble. io) and snack parties( after covid). I want to ensure every member of Youth2Youth feel they belong here. 4th I would strongly encourage discussion and ideas from everyone because we need opinion from different perspective to formulate a decision. I noticed some group members are shy and if they feel uncomfortable sharing in the group chat. I also would be willing to listen to their opinion and have conversation with them through private DM. In conclusion, please vote for me because I aim to increase team chemistry, create safe and interesting working environment, assign and distribute tasks reasonably. Supervise and help members to execute tasks efficiently.