Some people say that economic growth is necessary to solve the problems of poverty. Other people think that it should be stopped because it will damage the environment. Discuss these views and give your opinion.

Some people hold the thought that it is not worth improving the economy because it is harmful to the environment. Nevertheless, it is my belief that the growth of the economy is a contributing factor influencing the level of poverty. On the one hand, it is undesirable why some people think that the economy should not be developed because it could lead to the pollution of the environment. According to studies, compared to developing countries, the majority of developed countries have a high level of polluted environment. A standout example of this is China which gains the rate of air pollution, this is because the more factories there are the more CO2 emissions are released. As a result, this would affect not only daily life activities but also to the health of residents in this city for the long-term. Because of bad health, their life expectancy could be decreased, which becomes a controversial issue. On the other hand, I would maintain that economic growth plays a vital role in our life for the following reason. It must first be recognized that improving the economy could make the way for eliminating poverty by reducing the level of unemployment, which is a vast problem we have to confront. This means that it would expand business opportunities, and people could find well-paid jobs more easily. Therefore, they could break the vicious cycle of poverty that both give the next generations opportunities to pursue higher education and live their life as they want. Because of higher income people often gain better education and knowledge that they have more choices in university for their children. In my conclusion, while it is true that the improvement of the economy makes the environment degreated, I firmly believe that a growing economy is more crucial to eradicate poverty because of reducing the rate of unemployment. It is thus advisable that both government and individuals should act together to develop the economy effectively.