Some people say that due to the growing number of unfit and overweight people sport should be made compulsory in all educational establishments. Others claim that only voluntary decision to do sport helps people to be fit, but compulsory physical education embarrasses and turns away students who don't like sport. Give your opinion and support it with relevant examples.

These days there are two main points of view about the introduction of the sports discipline into the curriculum. While some people consider sport as a mandatory subject in the educational system, others suggest such an approach increases the pressure on the student’s, forcing them to be engaged in sport against their will. I believe that sport shouldn’t be an obligatory subject and students should be free for making their own choice with regards to this question. Firstly, it is impossible to force students to do sports against their will, because it could worsen their attitude to this subject. Despite attending sport classes, their hate for sport could increase under these circumstances and it could affect their future preferences. The pressure and the lack of positive reinforcement could induce them to reject the sport in their future. Thus, the number of overweight people will be increased. Moreover, a good promotion of the well-being provided by sport and a free choice could increase student’s interest in this subject, accelerating a number of people who select sport by themselves. If people make a personal decision to do sports, they will not reject it for a long time. It is easier to stick to your own decision, than to do something against your will. For instance, in plenty of Russian schools there is a bad attitude to sports classes and students don’t consider this subject as an important thing. Thus, they skip the lessons very often and try to get a doctor's permission which allows them to ignore sport classes. In conclusion, I think that it is inappropriate to introduce sport’s subjects as an obligatory, because it doesn’t resolve the problem of the increasing number of unfit people, while the free sport classes will encourage students to improve themselves.