Some people say that class size affects language teaching while others feel that big classes do not matter.

People hold various views about the effects of the size of the class on the quality of a language lesson. From my perspective, I believe that while it is not a major concern in some cases such as receptive skills, the number of students can be pivotal in language classes including productive skills. On the one hand, I would suggest that when teaching reading and listening skills, teachers should not worry about the class size. Since the main purpose of such courses is to equip students with basic techniques, teachers can deliver a lecture to a large group of learners and afterward check their understanding by giving exercises and answers. Although there are occasions when some learners lag behind their peers, this can be solved by giving these individuals further reading and listening extra homework. In this way, we can see that class size does not matter the teaching quality. On the other hand, I believe that the number of students in a class is an important consideration because a small-size class promises better interaction between learners and teachers. This holds for a wide range of aspects of language learning, some of which are pronunciation, speaking, and writing skills. In such lessons, the instructor provides appropriate advice and correction to each student as their mistakes vary from person to person. A learner can struggle with putting their thoughts on paper, while another may have difficulty in word choice and punctuation. If there are too many students, the instructor cannot allocate time to each of them, and the overall outcomes of the lesson would ultimately not be realized. In conclusion, I believe that although class size does not matter in a few aspects of language teaching, schools and teachers should consider the size of their classes to increase the quality of teaching.