Some people say that children should begin formal education as young as possible. However, others believe that children should go to school at least at 7.

People have different views about whether children should start schooling at an early age or not. While I accept that going to school earlier can bring some benefits to children, I believe that starting to attend primary education at the age of seven is better. On the one hand, I can understand why some people are in favour of earlier education for some reasons. Firstly, children under 7 tend to be quite thirstier for knowledge than those who are above 7. Sending children to school earlier can therefore feed their curiosity and thirst. Secondly, children might become easily accustomed to the learning environment if they started to go to school earlier; the earlier they are exposed to schooling, the easier they will adapt. Finally, some take the view that children can make the best use of their early childhood by commencing schooling earlier instead of wasting their time playing games and doing trivial activities. For example, in Turkey, a child named Ikbol Mahmud started school at the age of five, and as a result he was able to gain more academic achievements than his peers. On the other hand, I believe that starting school at 7 is surely reasonable for children for 3 reasons. It can start with their right for playing games and doing their favourite activities. Children attending school below 7 can be deprived of the pleasure they could take in playing different games. It is such games that, in fact, can inspire their creativity which is much needed in their later life. There can be also a psychological pressure on younger children if they start schooling, say, at 5. In turn, this can discourage them to acquire more knowledge in the following stages of education such as tertiary education. Last of all, children should not be rushed into starting school too early since they have much time ahead of them. There will be more opportunities for them to take in their later life. One example that can be is that Albert Einstein started to go to school later than his peers, but was able to make a ground-breaking breakthrough, developing the theory of relativity. In conclusion, although starting school earlier can be useful for children in some respects, I would argue that standard school age, 7, is reasonably established for the benefits of children.