experience about learning English

My experience with learning English started a long time ago when I was in grade 3. I learned the basic things at school like grammar and simple vocabulary. One day, my teacher asked me to join the competition called “IOE” and that was my first experience. The biggest problem at that time was that I didn’t know more methods to learn all the skills of English. Luckily, my teacher helped me to overcome all of them in her own unique way. It was really my honor to represent my school and my district winning the first prize of the competition. The useful help I got was from watching movies with subtitles. It was quite hard in the beginning, but then It became simple and easy to forget the subtitles. The trick to learning any language, from my point of view, is to train your hearing so it becomes familiar with words and their sounds. When you do that as you watch the movie with subtitles your brain will relate some words with what it hears and sees. So the next time when you hear the sentence or the word you'll remember what it means without needing a dictionary. These are the first methods I learned from my teacher. Thanks to the existing knowledge base I have got, I am now more confident when learning English than my peers. I would like to say “Thank you teacher and myself for not giving up in the past”.