Some people say that children have too much freedom nowadays. Give your opinions based on your knowledge and experiences.

There are certain individuals that hold the view that children do not have too much freedom. These people believe that the greater the freedom children are entrusted with, the greater their ability to grow, learn and be creative. Moreover, these people believe that by limiting a child’s freedom, the child becomes far too dependent on the immediate family and incapable of developing the socialization skills needed for any child to cope in the larger world outside the family. This will result in a shy, introverted individual, limited in his or her ability to explore and respond positively to changing circumstances. In addition, they believe that cultures that entrust their children with freedom are cultures which are healthy, productive and highly creative cultures that tend to lead the world in educational outcomes, technology innovation and artistic genius. The outcome of freedom is extremely positive for the individual child and society. However, I disagree with view. I believe that children these days are given far too much freedom and that this has disastrous consequences for the child and society. Children become ill-disciplined and unruly, tiny Hitlers or tyrants in a world lacking respect or connection. Furthermore, children who do not have a clear familial structure where boundaries involving who they mix with, when and where, tend to feel lost and unloved. Children need directions and fundamental rules so that freedom is not abused. In my own experience, I witnessed my niece, given almost unfettered freedom, become virtually uncontrollable and rejecting any discipline or direction from her family. This is the complete opposite to our traditional values of respect towards older people. The consequences were disastrous for her with an early pregnancy and unwanted early motherhood. I therefore believe that children given too much freedom will tend to abuse it. Often this freedom is really parental neglect disguised as freedom. Children need structure and order or they tend to suffer. Freedom granted must be earned and based on proof they can be trusted and not an automatic right.