Topic 1: Some people think international car-free days are an effective way of reducing air pollution; however, others think there are some other ways.

The ubiquity of cars is often considered as a major culprit of air quality degradation in many countries. To combat atmospheric pollution, many suggest that car-free days should be held internationally. However, I contend that these events may achieve little success, and there are more effective methods to preserve the atmosphere. On the one hand, car-free days is an important way to resolve the adulteration problem. Since a high proportion of exhausted gas is produced by cars, it is better if more people recognize and reduce their car driving time. As an alternative, it could be a greater help when individuals change their type of vehicle into some that are more friendly to the environment such as bike. Furthermore, by not using cars, we will not demand a huge amount of fuel; this leads to lesser demands on mineral exploitation. Consequently, the environment will not be polluted because of human needs. There are, in my opinion, better measures to minimise air pollution. One of them is constructing dedicated lanes for public means of transport. These lanes guarantee that public transport is relatively faster than individual vehicles in rush hours, which may encourage a majority of commuters to eschew their personal vehicles in favour of mass transit. The implication is that motor vehicle use may be reduced throughout the year, which exerts a longer-lasting impact on minimising traffic fumes than international car-free days may do. Another measure is levying a tax on carbon usage in all areas, including transport and industrial production. This measure has been adopted in several countries, including the United Kingdom, and has proven its effectiveness as a holistic approach to curtail emissions in all fields. In my view, those measures are all effective in addressing the problem of air pollution, but only to a certain extent. Such a problem needs to be dealt with by different approaches and I always feel that if there is only one way being implemented, it will not be enough.