Many of the countries believe that international tourism has harmful effects. Why do they think so? What can be done to change their views?

International travel and holiday is a huge business for many countries but on the other hand few countries believe that its detrimental to their culture, environment, and ruling. That means for them cons outweighs the pros. I would like to explain the reason with examples, More over would suggest few steps to curb the negative effects of tourism. A lot of nations believe that tourism might change their culture. Western influence will lure young generation towards more liberal belief and which might clash with countries own conservative culture, Religion and belief system. On the one hand a lot of famous tourist spots have surge in the crime like illegal selling of Narcotics and Prostitution. Moreover some places are well known primarily for experiencing recreational drugs use. Consequently lead to some states being reluctant to the idea of liberal tourism. Most importantly gentrification due to demand of tourists have negative impact on natural habitat for example spike in plastic waste essentially soft drink bottles, Polythene bags, Glasses and cups. More over deforestation for resort building also goes on at fast pace hence in the light of the fact lead to air pollution and Rise in temperature. Lastly it also effect local employment because big companies hire more qualified employees for their business than recruiting from local area. On the other hand stiff competition for business between small local ventures and Big international names. Therefore, usually end with closing of local business because of unable to compete. On the brighter side if everything done in proper manner it could be beneficial for the country as well as the masses. Government should ensure proper law and governance to protect and support citizens in every way, Hence for foreign investment they must ensure that such arrangements are done in collaboration with local businesses. Eventually help them grow. Furthermore, special focus should be on local hiring to generate employment. Last but not least development should be done while keeping sustainability in mind. Special emphasis on eco tourism is a progressive step to keep things under control.