Some people say that all popular TV entertainment programmes should aim to educate viewers about important social issues. with this statement?

Throughout the years, TV entertainment programmes have helped shaped the society’s pop-culture. Whilst other believe that TV programmes must be used to educate viewers regarding critical social issues, others think that it should only be used to entertain viewers. This essay will argue that the use of TV entertainment programmes should be absolutely aimed to educate viewers about important social issues that are pertinent in today’s modern society. Some viewers believe that TV programmes are made to entertain people and to relieve their stress. This is evident with the rise of reality shows in every channel networks as more and more people got interested and amused to watch other people’s lives. A good example of this is the reality TV show Keeping up with the Kardashians. This show has been on air for 15 years and has amassed a cult following from numerous people around the globe. In addition, according to survey conducted by AGB Nielsen, people watch tv programmes, such as reality shows, to divert their attention from their own reality and forget their problems even in a short while. Conversely, TV entertainment programmes have huge impact to the viewers. They have the power to influence the perception and mentality of the audiences. For example, In 1986, a documentary was launched in television to show the killings of whale sharks in the ocean. Through that documentary, social awareness was raised and several people had condemned the killings which led to an international law that banned the killing activities of whale sharks. Furthermore, TV entertainment programmes can also educate the younger generation by emphasizing the importance of social and cultural history which they can see in televisions such as watching educational documentaries which help them in their studies as well. In conclusion, TV programmes has the power to not only provide entertainment, but they can certainly be used to educate the minds of many viewers about social issues that are timely and relevant in today’s modern society.